Scholarship Amount | $1,350*

This annual scholarship is available to applicants meeting the following criteria:

The purpose of this scholarship is to support librarianship. This scholarship is available to librarians who meet the following criteria:

  • Current or permanent Wisconsin resident;
  • Admitted to a master’s degree program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Library and Information Studies during the coming academic year beginning with the fall term as a part-time or full-time student.

The application will be available April 15, 2024, and the application deadline is June 15, 2024. 

 Applicants will be evaluated on the basis of: 

  • Experience and background in library and library related work;
  • Career plans in the library profession;
  • Need and desire for the scholarship;
  • Past academic performance.

Affirmative action and equal opportunity principles will be applied.  Racial or ethnic minorities, women and disabled persons are encouraged to apply and may identify themselves as such if they wish.

Applicants must submit a completed application form. If any information requested cannot be provided via the online submission form, please forward such to:

Scholarship Committee Chair
WLA Foundation, Inc.
PO Box 6437
112 Owen Road #6437
Monona, WI 53716-4610

Applicants will be notified by email and US mail. 


*The scholarship’s monetary award varies and is based on funds available from the WLA Foundation, Inc. The recipient may receive this award only once.


This annual award was endowed through a bequest from the estate of Sally Davis, a longtime WLA member and former librarian at UW-Madison School of Library and Information Studies. Ms. Davis was WLA President from 1969-70 when she was Director of School Libraries in Oconomowoc.