Please note: Nominations are for awards are for accomplishments during the year preceding the award.  Please refer to the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame information to recognize someone for career-long achievements.  

Download the 2024 Awards flyer

Citation of Merit

Conferred upon Wisconsin citizens who are neither librarians nor library trustees, who have made outstanding contributions to quality library services. This award may be given to a group of people or an individual. 

Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award
Presented to a Wisconsin author or illustrator with the most distinguished work in children’s and young adult literature by the Children's Book Awards Committee of the WLA Youth Services Section. The Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award is made possible by the Worzalla Publishing Company, Stevens Point, through a grant to the WLA Foundation. 

Library of the Year Award
Presented to any type of Wisconsin library, library system or library network for distinguished achievement in service. The staff, library board or administering body, and the community or people served shall all be involved in the work for which recognition is sought. 

Literary Awards
The Literary Awards Committee and the Children's Book Awards Committee select outstanding published works by Wisconsin-connected authors. The WLA Literary Awards Committee is responsible for the selection of the WLA Literary Award, Outstanding Books of the Year, and Notable Wisconsin Authors. The Children’s Book Award Committee of the Wisconsin Library Association’s Youth Services Section is responsible for the selection of the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award, Outstanding Books of the Year, and Notable Wisconsin Authors/Illustrators.

Muriel Fuller Award
Conferred upon a library professional or paraprofessional in recognition of outstanding accomplishments which have significantly improved and benefited library services.  As of 2024, this award is conferred to a WLA member within the current pool of award nominees at the discretion of the Awards & Honors Committee. Nominations are no longer accepted for this award,

Programming Innovation Award
Presented in recognition of programming leadership in providing innovative and excellent library programming in Wisconsin libraries. Nominated programs may be stand-alone programs, series, passive or cooperative. Programs for all age groups are eligible.  

Special Service Award
Presented to a group of people or an individual for noteworthy achievement as evidenced by substantial activities and exceptional service to the library profession. The Wisconsin recipient or recipients shall have influence and reputation beyond the local community.

Paralibrarian of the Year Award
The Wisconsin Library Association’s Support Staff and Circulation Services (SSCS) Paralibrarian of the Year Award recognizes the essential role of paralibrarians, including all library support staff who do not currently have an MLIS, in providing excellent library service in Wisconsin. This award places special emphasis on efforts to further the role of paralibrarians and library support staff in the library profession.

Trustee of the Year Award
Conferred upon an outstanding Wisconsin library trustee. The trustee must be in actual service during all or part of the year in which he or she is honored. 

WLA/DEMCO® Librarian of the Year Award
In recognition of a librarian's outstanding leadership and accomplishment in library service. The librarian must be currently employed, at the time of selection, in any field of librarianship in Wisconsin and must be a current member of the WLA. 

Updated May 2024 WLA/WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Award
The WLA/WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Award is administered jointly by the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) through its Intellectual Freedom Committee and the Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association (WEMTA) through its Intellectual Freedom Committee. 





Awards & Honors Committee

Citation of Merit
Library of the Year Award
The Muriel Fuller Award
Programming Innovation Award
Trustee of the Year Award
Special Service Award
WLA/DEMCO Librarian of the Year Award
(New for 2024) Paralibrarian of the Year Award 

Intellectual Freedom Award

Representatives from the WLA Intellectual Freedom Committee & the WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Committee

Wisconsin Library Heritage Steering Committee

       Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame  

Children's Book Awards Committee

Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award
Outstanding Achievement
Notable Wisconsin Children’s Authors/Illustrators

Literary Awards Committee

Literary Award
Outstanding Achievement
Notable Wisconsin Author