Governor Evers Issues National Library Card Sign-Up Month Proclamation

Governor Tony Evers is helping Wisconsin libraries celebrate National Library Card Sign-Up Month with a special proclamation. The attached press release was distributed yesterday. As you develop promotions for your own community, please feel free to share this information. 

We want your stories! The WLA office wants to know how you are promoting National Library Card Sign-up Month in your community. Please send your stories, promotional materials, etc to [email protected].

Read More

WLA Welcomes New Executive Director

The Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) Executive Board is pleased to announce that Laura Sauser, has accepted the position of Executive Director. Sauser has more than 25 years of cross-industry experience in association management, philanthropy (both fundraising and grant making), marketing, public relations, community relations, and librarianship. She is a member-focused leader with a proven record of implementing successful initiatives and sustaining organizational growth. 

“Members of the Executive Search Committee and Board were impressed with Ms. Sauser’s wide range of association management and community relations experience which is essential to lead an association in today’s ever-changing and challenging environment,” said Sherry Machones, WLA President. “We are confident that she has the leadership skills to successfully step into the Executive Director position and are excited to welcome her to the Wisconsin library community.”

Read More

Announcing the 2020 Children's Book Awards Winners!

The Children's Book Awards Committee of the Youth Services Section has selected and announced the 2020 award winners for the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award, Outstanding Books of the Year, and the Notable Wisconsin Authors/Illustrators Award. Check out these fantastic authors today!


Announcing the 2020 Literary Award Winner

Madhuri Vijay Wins Literary Prize from Wisconsin Libraries

The Literary Awards Committee of the Wisconsin Library Association is pleased to announce that Madhuri Vijay’s novel The Far Field is the Literary Award winner for 2020.  This award is for the highest literary achievement by an author with a Wisconsin connection, for a work written in 2019.  

Read More

Announcing the 2019 Literary Award and Children’s Book Award Winners

The Wisconsin Library Association Announces the 2019 Literary Award and Children’s Book Award Winners

Chloe Benjamin Wins Literary Prize from the Wisconsin Library Association
For Her Novel: The Immortalists

Read More

Announcing the 2019 Awards & Honors Winners

The Wisconsin Library Association is pleased to announce the 2019 Awards & Honors Winners, selected for their outstanding contributions to libraries and librarianship: 

  • Citation of Merit: Vicki Reuling, Community Library Supporter, Three Lakes, WI 
  • Library of the Year: L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library, Eau Claire, WI 
  • Programming Innovation Award: Dementia-Friendly Programs at North Shore Library, Glendale, WI 
  • Trustee of the Year: Kathy Pletcher, Nicolet Federated Library System, Green Bay, WI 
  • WLA/DEMCO Librarian of the Year: Marla Sepnafski, Director, Wisconsin Valley Library Service, Wausau, WI 

More information about the 2019 award winners

Read More