Scholarship Amount | $250 to go towards lodging, registration, meals and mileage*

 *Note: the full cost of attending the WLA Fall Conference may be greater than the awarded scholarship. Scholarship will be applied to cost. Two $250 scholarships will be awarded to two WLA Members.

The purpose of this scholarship is to promote attendance at the Wisconsin Library Association Annual Conference.

This annual scholarship is available to applicants meeting the following criteria:

  • Employed by a Wisconsin library or information agency with 4 FTE or less or have a service population of under 6000 people (Grade II or Grade III Certification).
  • Must be willing to communicate knowledge gained, especially how this knowledge can be applied to small libraries and to fellow WISL members.
  • Must be a member of WLA and the Wisconsin Small Libraries Section at the time of application.

Due August 1

Applicants will be evaluated on the basis of: 

  • Need and desire for scholarship.
  • Small and rural library leadership potential.
  • Previous conference attendance opportunities (Previous attendee of the WLA Annual Fall Conference or scholarship recipients are encouraged to re-apply).

Scholarship recipients will be expected to: 

  • Attend entire conference for which the scholarship has been awarded.
  • Attend a combination of at least 2 WISL meetings/programs while at the conference.
  • Submit newsletter article to the WLA Newsletter sharing what recipient learned from conference.

Applications will be evaluated by a committee of the Wisconsin Small Libraries Section Board.


2017: Angela Badzislaw, Spooner Memorial Library

2016: Amy Stormberg, Director of Shell Lake Public Library & Nancy Sandleback, Director of Holy Wisdom Monestary Library, Middleton

2015: Rebecca Pfile, Director of Endeavor Public Library & Allison (Alli) Chase, of Alice Baker Library

2014: Gina Rae, Wilton Public Library & Julie Beloungy, Thorp Public Library

2013: Andrea Klapper, Montello Public Library & Amanda Burns, Suring Area Public Library

2012: Marie Marquardt and Diane Wald, Alma Public Library

2011: Judy Grant, Trempealeau